OneRail Coalition Names Kyle Fields, Arielle Giordano Winners of 2023 Canby Awards

Left to right: OneRail Coalition Deputy Director Liz Hill, OneRail Director Devon Barnhart, Kyle Fields, Anne Canby at the awards event. Arielle Giordano was unable to attend.

WASHINGTON, DC, December 13, 2023 – OneRail Coalition Director Devon Barnhart announced that Kyle Fields, Professional Staff for the U.S. Senate Commerce Committee, and Arielle Giordano, Assistant Vice President of CPKC, are the winners of the 2023 Canby Awards. The award is named for the organization’s former director, Anne Canby, and is given in recognition of an individual’s strong support for advancing rail in the United States. Canby was on hand to present the awards at an event here last week.

“The OneRail Coalition is pleased to present this year’s Canby Awards to Kyle Fields and Arielle Giordano in recognition of their dedication to preserving and improving the U.S. rail network,” said Barnhart. “We are grateful for their individual contributions towards strengthening rail across the U.S., which have helped to support our common goal of growing the use of rail, while keeping goods and people moving smoothly.”

Said Canby, “We appreciate Kyle and Arielle for their work supporting the advancement of rail as a critical part of the solution to our nation’s key infrastructure, economic, and climate challenges.”

The OneRail Coalition presented two awards at the December 8 event:

The Congressional Staff Award was presented to Kyle Fields, Counsel for the Senate’s Surface Transportation, Maritime, Freight, and Ports Subcommittee. Prior to working in Congress, Kyle served as a fellow and a trial attorney in the Office of Chief Counsel at the Federal Railroad Administration, where he focused on safety issues. 

The OneRail Member Award was presented to Arielle Giordano, Assistant Vice President, U.S. Government Affairs at CPKC, where she was an integral part of the historic CP and KCS merger. Prior to CPKC, Arielle Giordano served as Counsel on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

About the Canby Awards

The Canby Awards were created in 2022 in honor of former OneRail Coalition Executive Director Anne Canby’s perseverance for advancing rail in the United States.  Anne Canby dedicated her life’s work to transportation and promoting rail at all levels of government, serving as the New Jersey Commissioner of Transportation, Delaware’s Secretary of Transportation, and Deputy Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation. She helped found the OneRail Coalition as an organization to promote America’s freight and passenger rail industry. Anne served as Executive Director for more than a decade until she stepped down in 2021.

About the OneRail Coalition

OneRail is a diverse group of stakeholders who have come together to educate America about the benefits of a strong freight and passenger rail system. Learn more at; follow OneRail on Facebook, Twitter/X, and LinkedIn.